Coy Maddry Scholarship

The Avery Coy Maddry Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a deserving graduating senior at one of Chapel Hill’s public high schools. The scholarship was established by family and friends in memory of Coy, a 1990 graduate of Chapel Hill High School who was a freshman at NC State University at the time of his death. The scholarship is administered by OrangeUMC/Coy Maddry Scholarship Fund. The grants are usually in the amount of $1,000.

The selection criteria and guidelines are as follows:
– must be a varsity letterwinner
– must demonstrate academic success as reflected by grade point average, course selection, SAT scores, class rank, academic honors and other measures of academic effort.
– must demonstrate hard work and dedication
– must demonstrate exemplary character and leadership, including involvement in church and community activities. As a church offering a scholarship, we put particular emphasis on an individual’s involvement in a faith community. This is an important component of scholarship.
– must be planning to further his or her education at a four- year institution of higher learning.

Nominations of deserving student-athletes who meet the criteria are made by the teachers and coaches at high schools in the Chapel Hill-Carrboro school system using the appropriate forms issued by the church. A committee of church members evaluates the candidates and makes the selection.


1991 Matt Stevens
1992 Michael Clontz
1993 Andre Taylor
1994 Tom Kindem
1995 Mary Schliebe, Becky Andersen
1996 Elizabeth Costa, Seth Howard, Hunter Lewis, Jennifer White
1997  Erica Newmark, Nick Trotta
1998 Alicia Ammons, Martina Williams, Adam Pomerantz
1999 Katie Ploghoft
2000 Inchull Lee, Julie Scearce
2001 Rachel Kitson, Lindsay Strunk
2002 Kate Crandall, Hadley Thom
2003  Heather Kendell, Chris Conway
2004 No award given
2005 Elizabeth Williams
2006 Scott Anderson, Daniel Acker
2007 Kent Pecora
2008 Wesley Strunk, Jeremy Harn
2009 Alessa Lennon
2010 Katie Krantz, Sam Marks
2011 Bill Collette, Adam Glasser
2012 Connor Roach
2013 Peter Rathmell, Alexa Young
2014 Katie Wilson
2015 Allie Parker
2016 Kate Wood
2017 Jackson Pettee, Paige Watson